Where to begin . . .

August 20, 2009.  It was around 2:00 in the afternoon when a very, very tall doctor (whose scrubs were too short – which endeared me to him immediately) gave us the scary news.

A year later as I sit in my living room I know how blessed I am.  I know that my diagnosis could have been much worse.  I know that life could have looked much different than it does today.

Today I have a scar.  But I don’t have cancer.

People have asked how the past year has changed me.  And I tell them that it hasn’t changed me as much as I had hoped it would.

Living intentionally takes, um, intentionality.  It doesn’t just happen.

As much as I’d like to say I didn’t – I still get disenchanted with life at times.  I get frustrated with people and situations.  I lose sight of the beauty that is life.

And to be honest, there are times when I say to myself, “If God has given me a second chance at life, why do I continue to live life in the same way.”

But, I am grateful for even the day to day life that can sometimes be difficult or boring or not-quite-what-I-envisioned.

I am grateful for the love of family and friends.  For the simple ways we live life together.  It is rarely dramatic or exciting, but it is always good because we’re together.

I’m grateful for grace, provision and mercy.  And that I have another day to live in response to God granting them to me.

Sure, I rarely live up to the fact that I got a second chance at life.

But I can begin again today.

One thought on “Where to begin . . .

  1. catching up on your blog…i love what you said above “But I can begin again today” that is great for all of us to say time & time again – i am so happy that you are here with me today & am so thankful that you only have a scar – i love you bff!!

Leave a Reply

