Questions . . .

This past weekend we let Emma watch the movie “Hook” for the first time.  She loves Tinkerbell and Peter Pan and that whole story, so it seemed natural to introduce her to this movie (that, believe it or not is almost 20 years old)The movie started.

So did the questions.

“Where is Tinkerbell?”  “Where is Peter Pan?”  “Where are they going?” “Where are the children?” Where is Tinkerbell?” “Where is Peter Pan?” “What is Captain Hook doing?” . . . and so the questions continued.

Through the entire movie.

Gerron estimates that she must have asked at least 400 questions.  Many of them the same question asked multiple times.  Needless to say, he had a headache afterwards.

We tried to tell her to just watch the movie – that she would see Tinkerbell and Peter Pan and all her questions would be answered.  We tried to tell her just to relax and enjoy it.  We tried to tell her to not ask so many questions.

To no avail.

Such is life, living with a 3 year old.  The questions of “why” and “where” and “when” seem as numerous as breaths.

Emma wakes up every morning and asks, “Where are we going?”  I kid you not, EVERY morning she asks this question.

Back in college I had what I have named “The Chet Bush Epiphany”.  We went hiking at a park here in Tennessee – and needless to say, I’m not what one would call a “hiker”.  At any rate, Chet decided that there was a better way to get back to our car.

That “better way” involved scaling the side of the mountain.

I complained the whole time.  I told him that I wasn’t going one more step and that they were going to have to air-lift me out of that park.  I was mad.  And I kept asking, “Chet, do you REALLY know where we’re going?”

He did.  He was right.  Blah, blah, blah.  Should have trusted him.  Blah, blah, blah.

I learned a very important lesson that day.

I must seem like a 3 year old to God – asking all my questions of what’s coming up next.  Must seem like that non-hiker – wondering if God really knows what he’s doing.

He does.

I should probably try to enjoy the story.  Enjoy the scenery.

And stop asking so many questions.

One thought on “Questions . . .

Leave a Reply

