So much . . .

My house is quiet.  Gerron put Henley to bed about an hour ago and is now reading to Emma.  In the monitor I can hear Henley’s lullaby CD that I made before she was born.  Diana Krall – “If you’re tired, and you can’t sleep.  Just count your blessings instead of sheep.  And you’ll fall asleep, counting your blessings . . .”

I could count for days.

I have been overwhelmed – and that is an understatement – by the care, generosity and love of so many.  Some who I have not even seen in many months.  Some who are daily part of my life.  All who are so close to my heart always.

I haven’t seen this many flowers since my wedding day!

Flowers, cards, cupcakes, meals, calls, emails, gift cards, coffee, Fitz’s rootbeer, more coffee – this time from Latte Land (hallelujah), chocolate covered strawberries (my brother ordered them from San Diego – my word, who knew he knew me so well) . . .

My mom was at our beckon call – no questions asked. She worked hard.  And acted as though we were giving her some kind of gift.

Our neighbor aerated and seeded our entire yard.  For free.

And, did I mention that my best friends from college gave me a gift basket to end all gift baskets full of all things Zac Efron and dark chocolate?  Now THAT is a way to show you love someone.

And I say that I am not used to being on this end of things.  On the receiving end.  As if to suggest that I’m good at the giving end of things.  On the contrary, I am not.  Which makes being on the receiving end that much more, well, difficult.

I don’t deserve it.  Not that anyone is really “entitled” to receiving anything.  I guess we all think we are, but none of us really are.

It just goes to show you that it’s about the heart of the giver.

I could sermonize – but that’s not necessary.  You get it.

I hope I get it.

I hope that I have a heart that gives – when it’s inconvenient, or I can’t afford it, or I don’t have time.  I hope that I have a heart that gives when someone least expects it.  I hope that I have a heart that gives out of nowhere – to a stranger, to a friend, to my family.

I have been so inspired by all of my dear friends.  Inspired to be extravagant in my love for others.  Inspired to not just intend to be generous, but to be generous with all of my life.

I don’t have the words to stay thank you in the ways that would truly express how I feel.  I have been blessed, in more ways than it is possible to count.  By you.

Tonight, I will fall asleep counting my friends.

2 thoughts on “So much . . .

  1. Oh my…once again you have given me more than I ever thought possible to think about…thru your pain…I see JESUS

  2. Jen,
    dang you are so good with words. You are so special, I wish I could be there to make a you all a meal, bring flowers over, and hug you. I am so proud of you.
    You are SO loved,
    laura

Leave a Reply

