Surgery – check.

I’m not sure that posting a blog while on pain medication is the smartest thing.  My fingers don’t completely feel connected to my brain, if that makes sense.

Surgery was yesterday – and I kind of feel like I’m still living in that day.  Probably because I slept for about 24 hours straight.

We arrived at 6 a.m. – before most places at Vandy were open so our instructions weren’t terribly great.  But, once we got to the right place, everything went smoothly.  Gerron said that I giggled all the way down the hall after they put in my IV with the anesthesia – that sounds about right.

From what I know, surgery lasted around 4.5 hours.  It went smoothly and the CT scan was pretty accurate for what they needed to remove.  Apparently one of my vocal chords took quite a beating, and the surgeon didn’t think I would have a voice for a while.  But, my voice is fine.

I was in the recovery room until about 8:30 last night – on a stretcher.  There was no room in the inn, from what I hear.  I was moved into a regular bed at 8:30 and put in a pre-op room until a regular room opened up.  My calcium levels dropped pretty dramatically which made my hands completely numb yet cramped.  I looked like I had permanent tomahawk chop hands.  It was a little scary, but once they got the calcium back in me, I felt much better.

I was moved to a semi-private room around 2 a.m.

Awkward, to say the least.

I have had several visitors today, which has been so nice.  I have felt pretty great today, considering.  My scar is huge, but thin.  And I’m thankful that the weather is cooling off so I can wear a scarf.

I’m getting tired, so I’m going to go.  Update more later.

3 thoughts on “Surgery – check.

  1. Jen–

    Glad to hear all went well. You know you have an army praying for you … or a mob, depending on your perspective.

    Tell Gerron he remains in our thoughts as well. If this happened to us, I’d rather be the one in the surgery than the one walking the halls and wringing my hands. Heather’s stronger than I am with that stuff.

    She’s in Atlanta this week, so I’ll pass along the news.

    Peace … and more peace–
    Brian

  2. Jennifer,
    Yu have been in our thoughts and prayers this week. I am thankful to be able to keep up w/ your progress through this blog. You are a special person Jen and God is using you to touch so many lives. Keep smiling my friend!

    Grace and Peace!
    Wayne and Emma

Leave a Reply

