Feeling fine . . .

Blogging can be, to say the least, self-indulgent.

And I’ll be honest, I’m a little tired of “me” these days.

Some people have been asking about what is ahead for us, so I thought I’d give it to you in a nutshell.  When the actual process will begin is yet to be determined as they have not scheduled my surgery.

Okay, so I have Papillary Thyroid Cancer.  It is in my thyroid and in some lymph nodes in my neck.  Before you freak out about that – know that this kind of cancer can still be treated very successfully even with it moving to the lymph nodes.  From what we can tell, it is pretty well contained in the right side of my neck.

They will do surgery.  Again, I don’t know when.  This surgery will remove my entire thyroid and most of the lymph nodes on the right side of my neck.  The incision will be large – going from right below my ear lobe all the way down to the bottom of my neck.  It should be a great conversation starter.

Several weeks after the surgery, I will most likely take a radioactive iodine treatment.  I blogged about this last week.  I am not really sure what this will entail yet, as it will be determined by the dosage.  However, I will have to be away from the girls for some amount of time.

When all is said and done, there is something like a 97% cure rate for this kind of cancer.  That’s better than most grades I made in school, so I’m pretty pleased with it.

No, I don’t  want to go through all of this stuff.  Certainly don’t want to have yet another surgery.  Definitely don’t want to be radioactive for any amount of time at all.  Would rather that this lump on my neck had been something incredibly minor.

However, I’m feeling great.  Nervous at times and sometimes incredibly anxious about the process of becoming cancer-free.  But for the most part, I’m much more encouraged than I am anxious.  Just ready to get on with it.

Yes, please continue to pray for us as this is still a difficult road ahead.  But, also know that there are so many who face more difficult roads than we face.  Please pray for them as well.

Leave a Reply

