A different kind of family . . .

Tonight marked the official beginning of the new school year in many ways.  New students, parents, employees and returning students gathered for a special worship service together.

These new students have no idea what they are getting themselves into.

Sixteen years ago, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into, either.

Tonight, I believe I might have caught a glimpse of it.

We brought the girls with us – which probably wasn’t the best idea in the world.  We sat in the back, for a quick exit if needed.  And, of course, the girls were restless.  Emma kept kicking the chair in front of her and would not sit still to save her life.  Henley is just generally a loud baby.  Not upset, just loud.

But Heather picked Henley right up and held her for almost the entire service.  She even got up and stood with her in the back – and that’s when Jenn took over and held her for a while.

Kathy leaned over to me and asked if I knew when the surgery was – something Dr. Boone said made her think of me.  Nicole hugged me tight.  Becky told me about her experience.  Brenda was genuinely interested in what the treatment would look like. Nancy and Don offered help with the girls.  Denise squeezed Henley as if she were her own.

Tonight I realized what I didn’t know I was getting myself into 16 years ago.  Little did I know back then that I was joining a family.

I mean, people talked about the “Trevecca Family” but I didn’t know.  I didn’t know what that really meant.

Tonight I found out that it means you take care of each other.  You care enough to stop and have a heartfelt conversation.  You don’t pass by without at least a hug or pat on the back.  You hold each others babies.

You walk with each other.  Through the easy times and the hard times.

Tonight I realized just how many people are walking with us.  And, in every way that counts the most, they are our family.

One thought on “A different kind of family . . .

  1. Jen,
    I just found out on Friday night (Aug 28) from Adam & Jackie–we were babysitting Owen. Oh my gosh Jen, I’m so sorry, this totally sucks. I tired calling you yesterday, but I got your voicemail, maybe I should try Gerron’s phone 🙂 I am much better on the phone than email so I just wanted you to know that I care, that I love you, and that I think you are awesome. I was crying reading all your blogs about it, as I’ve always said Jen, you have such a gift –to write so articulately with such emotion and clarity. It’s a gift to us your friends to know exactly how you are doing. I am here if you want to talk, if not know that Todd & I are praying.
    much grace & peace,
    laura

Leave a Reply

