So much for having a plan!

Last summer we were surprised to find out that we would be adding to our family . . . so I guess it’s only fitting that we should be surprised at the end by having Miss Henley Jane arrive earlier than we expected!

We had a c-section planned for Feb. 19.  I was relieved to have a few more days to get things together, clean the house, and generally just wrap my head around having a newborn in the house again.  Then, after dinner on Thursday (Feb. 12), my water broke.  Since I have never experienced that  before, and was having no contractions at all, I simply called the doctor to let them know what happened and find out what I needed to do. 

Gerron gave Emma a bath, we made a couple of calls and off we went.  Thankfully, Michelle and Jeremy were able to keep Emma overnight.  We arrived at the hospital and not too long after that, I was being prepped for surgery.  My “plan” came to a screeching halt . . . but look at what we got:

henley21209-074

henley21209-052

henley21209-081

Henley Jane Showalter – February 12, 2009 – 10:23 p.m.

6 lbs. 14.5 oz – 19 1/4 inches long

She’s  a doll!

2 thoughts on “So much for having a plan!

Leave a Reply

