Trust Issues

http://divinity.library.vanderbilt.edu/lectionary/CEpiphany/cEpiphany6.html

As I read the texts for this week – and reflect on the sermon from last week – one theme that keeps coming up is trust.  And I realize that this seems to be a theme in my own life.  Trust – when it all comes down, do I consistently take things into my own hands or do I truly let God work? 

As I read the Beatitudes, the difference between the two groups of people are clear.  The group that is blessed is the group whose trust is in the Lord.  The group that is “cursed” are those who seem to trust in material things, themselves, or this world in general. 

Some questions do come up, though, when I read this.  Because honestly, um, being rich, full, happy and having people speak well of me sounds pretty darn appealing. 

But then I realize that those things are fleeting – and they seem to be all about me – which is not what it’s all about.

So, I flip flop, back and forth.  And I wonder what it means to truly put my trust in God, to trust that he fills those who truly hunger for him.  What does it mean in my daily life to put my trust in God – and it be more than a slogan or catch phrase or a badge on my shirt.  What does it mean to trust God with decisions – with actions – with my future.

Trust.

Here’s what Dictionary.com has to say about trust:

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)Cite This Source

trust      [truhst] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation,

–noun

1. reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence.
2. confident expectation of something; hope.
3. confidence in the certainty of future payment for property or goods received; credit: to sell merchandise on trust.
4. a person on whom or thing on which one relies: God is my trust.
5. the condition of one to whom something has been entrusted.
6. the obligation or responsibility imposed on a person in whom confidence or authority is placed: a position of trust.
7. charge, custody, or care: to leave valuables in someone’s trust.
8. something committed or entrusted to one’s care for use or safekeeping, as an office, duty, or the like; responsibility; charge.

Well, at least it’s a start.  I’m definitely still learning – and though I want to be one of the blessed, I know that I must first come to a place of surrender.  And, that’s sometimes hard for me.  

We’ll talk more on Sunday – but hopefully this will get you thinking.

Learning along with you,

Jen

Leave a Reply

