Jubilee!

Thanks again to those who came out on Sunday.  We had a great group – and I hope something in our discussion time challenged you to focus a little more intently on God’s calling on your life.  I believe he has called us all to ministry and I pray that as you walk daily with him, you will receive clarity from him.  Most importantly, he has called you into relationship with him.  Try not to get ahead of him and “do” a bunch of stuff – rather take the time to “be” his.

This week we are using the passages that Pastor Dana spoke on this past Sunday.  Didn’t the service ROCK?!  Anyway, take some time to read over the passages and reflect on them a little more. 

http://divinity.library.vanderbilt.edu/lectionary/CEpiphany/cEpiphany3.htm

I’m excited to spend some time with you again on Sunday and hear your insights.  I am learning from you as well and hope that I can facilitate the discussion in such a way that we can all learn from each other.

Questions to reflect on:

Which passages/verses stand out to me?  What areas in my life need to experience Jubilee?  How can I extend the idea of Jubilee to others?  What does it mean that we are all part of the body and that there is not one part that is more important?  How does “equality” fit into the Story of God?

I encourage you to meditate on Psalm 19:14 this week.  May it be a starting point for you as you pray and prepare for what God is going to do in your life.

Peace to you all! 

On this lifelong road trip with you,

Jen

One thought on “Jubilee!

  1. This is a reply to last week’s discussion time. I left the classroom very challenged to let my “be”ing be as easy as my “do”ing has been to me, if that makes sense.

    And as God is most perfect in showing us things when we respond to Him, I’ve been fed a lot this week. Starting with finding something worth watching while idly flipping through channels. 🙂 There is a 30 minute Bible study that takes place in a small town in Oklahoma that I watched on Monday and have recorded since then (and need to watch). He brought me insights into Jesus’ character as the facilitator in the creation. Neat.

    And I finally picked up My Utmost for His Highest once again. I told myself that if I always swore to its wonderfulness, why was it still lying unopened? So Monday January 15th….it just made me laugh out loud how perfect and how exact it was to what I needed to hear and live. Long story short, I wss challenged to die to the earth/world and be buried. I imagined Jesus breathing life into me and wanted to sing “we are breathing the breath that You gave us to breathe” that we sang several weeks ago.

    I don’t mean to be so long winded, but I also don’t want to take up too much time on Sunday trying to explain myself. Recap-my focus thus far is letting my “be”ing begin to come as easy to me as my “do”ing has been. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

